Instruction Section Innovation Award Winners


2020 – Sarah LeMire, Terri Pantuso, and Kathy Anders, Graduate Studies Librarian, all of Texas A&M University, for their project OER Textbook for Composition and Information Literacy.
2019 – Chris Ervin, Jane Nichols, Beth Filar Williams, Hannah Gaucho Rempel, Dennis Bennett, and Uta Hutsong-Christian, all of Oregon State University, for their Undergrad Research and Writing Studio.
2018 – Trent Brager, University of St. Thomas, Amy Mars, St. Catherine University, and Kim Pittman, University of Minnesota-Duluth, for their work on 23 Framework Things, a free online professional development opportunity that helps librarians engage at their own pace through readings, activities, reflection, and discussion.
2017 – Susan Gardner Archambault, Loyola Marymount University, and Lindsey McLean, AbbVie, Inc., for their work on Project CORA: Community of Online Research Assignments, an open access resource for faculty and librarians looking for a collaborative space to share and adapt research assignments, as well as build a virtual community of practice for educators interested in teaching concepts related to information literacy
2016 – Heather Collins, University of Kansas Medical Center, and Sara Kearns and Joelle Pitts, Kansas State University, for their work on the New Literacies Alliance project, an online platform that addresses the “new” literacies required for academic success and lifelong learning and that allows students to master skills at their own pace
2015 – Michelle Keba, Michael Schofield and Jamie Segno, all of Nova Southeastern University, for their work on the software, Library Learn, which hosts instructional videos for using library resources.
2014 – Meredith Farkas, Amy Hofer, Lisa Molinelli and Kimberly Willson-St. Clair, all of Portland State University, for their work on the software Library DIY, which assists students in finding the information they need quickly.
2013 – Gregory (Mike) Hagedon and Leslie Sult, both of the University of Arizona Libraries, for their work on the software Guide on the Side, which helps instruction librarians create tutorials for database instruction.
2012 – Joshua Vossler, Coastal Carolina University and John Watts, Webster University, for for their work on a series of information literacy videos, a collaborative professional development project created in cooperation with Coastal Carolina University’s First Year Experience Program and designed to introduce first-year students to fundamental information literacy concepts
2011 – Kimberly Davies Hoffman and Michelle Costello, State University of New York (SUNY) at Geneseo, for developing LILAC (Library Instruction Leadership Academy), a collaborative professional development project designed, organized and delivered by regional K-12, community college and college/university librarians
2010 – Nancy Goebel and Dylan Anderson, University of Alberta Augustana Campus for developing WASSAIL, an information literacy assessment project
2009 – The Bucknell University World War II Poster Project, developed by Abby Clobridge and David Willson Del Testa:
2008 – Susan Sharpless Smith, Wake Forest University for the Embedded Librarian Project
2007 – “Community Workshop Series” created by the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill Library’s Instructional Services Department
2006 – Mary MacDonald, Jim Kinnie, Amanda Izenstark, Brian Gallagher, and Peter Larsen for “Issues of the Information Age: A Series of Continuing Public Forums at the University of Rhode Island.”
2005 – The Library Prize for Undergraduate Research at the University of California, Berkeley
2003 – University Library, University of Michigan for Instructor College
2002 – Ross LaBaugh, California State University-Fresno for InfoRadio
2001 – Randy Burke Hensley, Margit Misangyi Watts, Ross Christensen, and Vicky Lebbin, University of Hawaii at Manoa for LIS 100 course, “Libraries, Scholarship and Technology”
2000 – Elizabeth Dupuis, Clara Fowler, and Brent Simpson, Digital Information Literacy Office, University of Texas at Austin for TILT (Texas Information Literacy Tutorial)
1999 – Education Project Team (Laura Bender, Ann Eagan, Louise Greenfield,Cathy Larson, Claire Macha, Judy Marley, Jeff Rosen, and Karen Williams), University of Arizona for RIO (Research Instruction Online)
1998 – Nancy Adams, Lothar Spang, Nan Blackwell, Juliet Mullenmeister, and LaVentra Ellis, Shiffman Medical Library, Wayne State University for “Health Sciences Information Tools 2000” program
1997 – Debra L. Gilchrist and Kyzyl Fenno-Smith, Pierce College for “An Abilities Model of Library Instruction” program
1996 – Patricia Carroll-Mathes, Macdonald DeWitt Library, Ulster County Community College for Collaborative Information Literacy Project
1995 – Paula Walker, Andrea Bartelstein, Theresa Mudrock, and Anne Zald, University of Washington for UWired Freshman Interest Groups (FIGS)