Teaching Methods Virtual Event – Describing Realities, Imagining Directions: Critical Race Pedagogies in Teaching & Learning

Title:  Describing Realities, Imagining Directions: Critical Race Pedagogies in Teaching & Learning

Time: May 30, 2019 @ 1:00-2:00PM EST |12:00-1:00 PM CST | 11:00-12:00 PM MST | 10:00-11:00 AM PST

Please register at: https://ala-events.zoom.us/webinar/register/94586843c7c66f667c24e00bf0acd2b8

In this presentation, two academic librarians, Jen Brown and Jorge López-McKnight, who are currently practicing and imagining race-focused critical pedagogies, will discuss their teaching and learning approaches that will provide attendees with perspectives, ideas, and strategies to transport to their teaching. Critical race pedagogies draw from a range of theories and concepts that are grounded in affirmation, sustainment, and the centering of the racialized and intersectional information worlds of our learners and communities. Critical race pedagogies are committed to critiquing dominant oppressive power structures, while aiming to provide transformative learning experiences in the spaces we teach, learn, and live in.

Time for Q&A will follow the presentation.

Bios

Jen Brown is the Design & Technologies Librarian at Barnard College. In her current role, she oversees day-to-day operations of the library’s new Design Center and teaches learner-focused workshops around DIY projects that draw on makerspace technologies for college students.

Jorge López-McKnight is a library worker at the Austin Community College Riverside Campus, in Austin, Texas. In his current and past library position(s), he participates in various teaching and learning activities with a wide-range of learners.

This entry was posted in news. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *