Meet the ACRL Presidents: Eileen Thornton

Eileen ThorntonOver the course of ACRL’s 75th anniversary celebration, we’ll highlight the association’s history by profiling our past presidents.

Eileen Thornton (1909-1997) was the 20th president of ACRL, serving from 1957-1958. During that time, she was also college librarian at Oberlin College in Oberlin, Ohio. Under her leadership, the board approved the creation of a Subject Specialists’ Section (combining the Pure and Applied Science Section) and the establishment of a Rare Books Section to succeed the Committee on Rare Books, Manuscripts, and Special Collections. A member of ALA, Eileen also served as president of the Library Administration Division from 1967-68, was elected to ALA Council, was a founding member of the Ohio College Library Center, and received a distinguished service award from ACRL in 1989.