Meet the ACRL Presidents: Errett Weir McDiarmid

Over the course of ACRL’s 75th anniversary celebration, we’ll highlight the association’s history by profiling our past presidents.E.W. McDiarmid

Errett Weir McDiarmid (1909-2000) was the 9th president of ACRL, serving from 1946-1947. During that time he was also University Librarian and Director of the Division of Library Instruction at the University of Minnesota. Under his leadership, ACRL finally was able to garner financial support from ALA for an executive secretary of ACRL, which was important for the continuing growth of the professional organization. McDiarmid held other leadership positions within ALA, including serving as president from 1948-49. His most notable publications include The Library Survey: Problems and Methods (1940) and The Administration of the American Public Library (1943), both published by the American Library Association.