2011 ACRL Excellence in Academic Libraries Award

ACRL is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2011 Excellence in Academic Libraries Award: The Luria Library at Santa Barbara City College, Santa Barbara, Ca.; the Grinnell College Libraries, Grinnell, Iowa and the Z. Smith Reynolds Library at Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem, N.C. Sponsored by ACRL and YBP Library Services, the award recognizes the staff of a college, university and community college library for programs that deliver exemplary services and resources to further the educational mission of the institution.

“Receiving an Excellence in Academic Libraries Award is a national tribute to a library and its staff for the outstanding services, programs and leadership they provide to their students, administrators, faculty and community,” said ACRL Executive Director Mary Ellen K. Davis. “It is wonderful to learn of the innovative programs and services being offered by these three exemplary institutions.”

The Luria Library at Santa Barbara City College, winner in the community college category, impressed the selection committee with its outreach efforts and focus on student learning.

“The selection committee was impressed with the library’s commitment to student learning and library outreach to the community,” said Erika Linke, chair of the 2011 Excellence in Academic Libraries Selection Committee and associate dean of university libraries at Carnegie Mellon University. “Notable outreach efforts include working closely with the ESL department, students and the Transitions program. The library staff, working as a team, has made a tremendous impact that belies their small size.”

“During the past few years, our library learning environment has experienced a renaissance and this award both honors and recognizes the hard work and commitment of the library staff,” noted Library Director Kenley Neufeld. “This award will continue to solidify the library as a central component to student success at SBCC. The students, faculty and administrators who stepped forward to support this nomination are thrilled, as are the library staff.”

The Grinnell College Libraries, winner in the college category, was cited for its mentoring and information literacy programs.

“The Burling Library customized the ACRL information literacy standards to create a focused, coherent and successful information literacy instruction program,” Linke noted. “The selection committee was impressed with the student mentors program — one example of many connecting the library with students and faculty. The activities of the library demonstrate a continuous effort to improve, adapt, reshape and respond to new expectations.”

“The Grinnell College Libraries are delighted to be recognized with this award,” said Richard Fyffe, Rosenthal Librarian of the College. “It is testimony to the hard work, creativity, and dedication of all the library staff over many years. We have worked especially hard to be sure that we, our programs, and our services remain deeply integrated with campus learning, teaching, and research. As libraries continue to evolve, our commitment to the college’s liberal-arts mission and program helps to ensure our effectiveness.”

The Z. Smith Reynolds Library at Wake Forest University, winner of the university category, was noted for its strong institutional focus and values. “The selection committee was impressed with the strong alignment of the library to institutional values and ambitions as evidence through the variety of programs developed to support and foster student learning,” said Linke.

“The Z. Smith Reynolds Library is a catalyst bringing together faculty, students and staff. The library values and celebrates its employees whose teamwork creates the energy and vitality evidence in their application.”

“We at the Z. Smith Reynolds Library are thrilled to receive this year’s Excellence in Academic Libraries Award at the university level,” said Lynn Sutton, dean of the library. “The purpose of the award is to recognize librarians and staff who work together as a team to further the educational mission of their institution. That is the essence of ZSR. Our mission is to help our faculty and students succeed and we will do anything to further their success.”

Each winning library will receive $3,000 and a plaque, to be presented at an award ceremony held on each recipient’s campus.

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Library Gazette - ZSR Library Wins 2011 ACRL Excellence in Libraries Award
  2. ACRL Update: Change Ahead

Comments are closed.