2021 ACRL Section Award Recipients Announced

2021 ACRL Section Award Recipients

ACRL is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2021 section awards. Made possible by generous corporate support, the annual presentation of ACRL’s awards and grants enables ACRL to honor the very best in academic and research librarianship.

A listing of the 2021 section award recipients is below, and you can see all of ACRL’s award recipients on ACRL’s website.

Achievement and Distinguished Service Awards 

CJCLS EBSCO Community College Learning Resources Leadership Award 
Recipient: Yumi Shin, coordinator of reference and access services at Lamar State College, Port Arthur. Sponsored by EBSCO Information Services, the $750 award recognizes outstanding achievement in community college leadership. Shin was selected for her commitment to leadership both within her library and in the library community, and her efforts in pursuing a grant to explore ways to get dual-credit high school students involved in their college library through new technology and services.

CJCLS EBSCO Community College Learning Resources Program Award 
Recipient: Anjali Parasnis-Samar and Alice Wilson, both of Monroe Community College, for their College Researcher Badging Program. Sponsored by EBSCO Information Services, the $750 award recognizes outstanding achievement in community college programming. The program, made up of a series of missions that each result in a badge and culminate in a researcher certificate, expands information literacy access and has become even more essential in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.

DOLS Routledge Distance Learning Librarianship Conference Sponsorship Award 
Recipient: Natalie Haber, online services librarian at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. Sponsored by Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group, the award provides a $1,200 conference sponsorship to honor any individual ACRL member working in the field of, or contributing to the success of, distance learning librarianship or related library service in higher education. Haber was selected for her significant contributions to distance librarianship through continued service, scholarship, and leadership, including the creation of a worksheet allowing librarians to map their institutions’ distance library service to the ACRL Standards for Distance Library Services.

EBSS Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award
Recipient: Kaya van Beynen, associate dean of library research & instruction at the University of South Florida. Sponsored by the American Psychological Association, the $2,500 award honors a distinguished academic librarian who has made an outstanding contribution as an education and/or behavioral sciences librarian through accomplishments and service to the profession. Van Beynen was selected for her decade-long service to EBSS, strong record of scholarship, and successful implementation of exemplary programs.

IS Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award 
Recipient: Nicole Pagowsky, associate research & learning librarian and information literacy instruction program manager at the University of Arizona. Sponsored by ACRL’s Instruction Section (IS), the $1,000 award recognizes an individual librarian for significant contributions to the advancement of instruction in a college or research library environment. Pagowsky was selected for spearheading the Critical Library and Pedagogy Symposium and the impact her books, Critical Library Pedagogy Handbook, vol. 1 and 2, have had on the profession.

IS Innovation Award 
Recipient: Alexandria Chisholm and Sarah Hartman-Caverly, reference and instruction librarians at Penn State Berks, for their Digital Shred Privacy Literacy Initiative project. Sponsored by EBSCO Information Services, the $3,000 award honors librarians who have implemented innovative approaches to information literacy at their respective institutions or in their communities. The project demonstrated a high level of innovation with particular focus on privacy literacy, and includes lesson plans that may be adapted at other institutions.

PPIRS Marta Lange/SAGE-CQ Press Award
Recipient: Jill Severn, archivist and head of access and outreach at the University of Georgia and director of the Russell Forum for Civic Life in Georgia. Sponsored by SAGE-CQ Press, the $1,000 award recognizes a librarian who has made distinguished contributions to bibliography and information service in law or political science. The Special Collections Faculty Fellowship Program at the University of Georgia, started by Severn, serves as a model for how archival collections can be introduced into political science education.

ULS Outstanding Professional Development Award 
Recipients: Nimisha Bhat, Hailley Fargo, Chelsea Heinbach, and Charissa Powell, members of the editorial team for the professional development blog LibParlor. Sponsored by Library Juice Academy, the $1,000 award recognizes librarians, archivists or curators whose contributions to providing professional development opportunities for librarians have been especially noteworthy or influential. The team was selected for their efforts to create and promote an online community of practice for librarians.

WGSS Award for Career Achievement in Women & Gender Studies Librarianship 
Recipient: Jane Nichols, associate professor and head of the teaching and engagement department at Oregon State University. Sponsored by Duke University Press, the $750 award recognizes an individual librarian for career achievement in the area of women and gender studies librarianship. Nichols was selected for her tireless commitment to women and gender studies, social justice, critical pedagogy, and feminist publishing.

WGSS Award for Significant Achievement in Women & Gender Studies Librarianship 
Recipient: Nicola Andrews, instruction and first year experience librarian at the University of San Francisco. Sponsored by Duke University Press, the $750 award honors a distinguished academic librarian who has made outstanding contributions to women and gender studies through accomplishments and service to the profession. Andrews was selected for her publication “It’s Not Imposter Syndrome: Resisting Self-Doubt as Normal for Library Workers” (In the Library with the Lead Pipe, June 10, 2020).

Publication Awards 

IS Ilene F. Rockman Instruction Publication of the Year Award 
Recipient:  Alison J. Head, Barbara Fister, and Margy MacMillan for their report “Information Literacy in the Age of Algorithms: Student Experiences with News and Information, and the Need for Change,” published in 2020 by the Project Information Literacy Research Institute. Sponsored by Carrick Enterprises, the $1,000 award recognizes an outstanding publication related to instruction in a library environment that was published in the last two years. The report was selected for conveying the importance of teaching algorithmic literacy in modern information literacy education.

STS Oberly Award for Bibliography in the Agricultural or Natural Sciences 
Recipients: Jen Kirk, Government Information Librarian at Utah State University, and Helen F. Smith, Agricultural Sciences Librarian at Pennsylvania State University, for their work “An Inventory of Published Soil Surveys of the United States.” Funded by the Eunice Rockwood Oberly endowment and given in odd-numbered years, the award recognizes the best English-language bibliography in the field of agriculture or a related science. Kirk and Smith’s work makes soil surveys, which provide rich historical data, easily discoverable to researchers and general users.

Additional information on these awards, along with listings of past recipients, is available on the ACRL website.