ACRL Announces Recipients of Sponsored Scholarships to DHSI

The ACRL Digital Scholarship Section (DSS) is pleased to announce the selection of the following as sponsored scholarship recipients to receive registration to a one week course at the Digital Humanities Summer Institute (DHSI), at the University of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada, in June, 2020:

  • Tara Carlisle, Digital Scholarship Specialist at the University of Oklahoma
  • Kent Gerber, Digital Library Manager at Bethel University
  • Amanda Koziura, Digital Learning & Scholarship Librarian at Case Western Reserve University
  • Joanna Thompson, Librarian at Borough of Manhattan Community College
  • Brian Vetruba, European Studies and Digital Scholarship Librarian at University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

“We are so excited to announce the inaugural cohort of ACRL Digital Humanities Summer Institute scholarship recipients,” remarked DSS Chair Hannah Scates Kettler, Head of Digital Scholarship & Initiatives at Iowa State University. “It was a joy to engage with members in this way as it provided a platform for folks to talk about what they personally wanted to get out of librarianship and their attendance to DHSI. That’s not something we get to do every day. We are eager to hear about all the wonderful things they’ve learned later this Summer.”

DHSI is an ETCL-led pedagogical partnership of some 30 institutions and academic organizations plus an expanding international training network. DHSI provides an ideal environment for discussing and learning about new computing technologies and how they are influencing teaching, research, dissemination, creation, and preservation in different disciplines, via a community-based approach.

In addition to attending DHSI, the recipientswill have the opportunity to serve on an ACRL DSS committee to contribute to ACRL’s digital scholarship community by building on what they learn.