ACRL OnPoint Chat Sept 23: Ph.D.s in Academic Libraries

Join us for the next free ACRL OnPoint chat:

Ph.D.s in Academic Libraries: The Role of the Scholar-Librarian
September 23, 2009
(10:00 a.m Pacific | 11:00 a.m. Mountain | 12:00 p.m. Central | 1:00 p.m. Eastern)

This discussion will address the hybrid figure of the ‘scholar-librarian,’ focusing on the role of Ph.D. recipients in academic libraries. Questions to be asked will include: How does the very specific knowledge gained during Ph.D. research apply in an academic library setting? What roles do Ph.D.-holders play in the future of librarianship? How are Ph.D-holders particularly poised to mentor student research? This month’s chat is convened by: Heather Waldroup, CLIR Postdoctoral Fellow, The Libraries of the Claremont Colleges; Amanda Watson, Research and Instruction Librarian, Connecticut College; Christa Williford, Project Coordinator, Cataloging Hidden Collections, Council on Library and Information Resources; and Patricia Hswe, Project Manager, NDIIPP Partner Projects, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

ACRL OnPoint is a live series of informal monthly chat sessions that provide the opportunity to connect with colleagues and experts to discuss an issue of the day in academic and research librarianship.

All ACRL OnPoint chats are free and open to the public. Sessions are unmoderated, 30-45 minutes in length and take place in a Meebo chat room. While no registration is necessary to participate, ACRL recommends creating a quick and easy Meebo account for the best experience while participating in ACRL OnPoint discussions/events. Find the link to chat and full details online.