ACRL Presents – Open and Equitable Scholarly Communications (07/15/19)

For many years, the academic and research library workforce has worked to accelerate the transition to more open, inclusive, and equitable systems of scholarship. Learn about ACRL’s new research agenda Open and Equitable Scholarly Communications: Creating a More Inclusive Future in a free ACRL Presents webcast on Monday, July 15, 2019, from noon – 1:00 p.m. Central time (10:00 – 11:00 a.m. Pacific | 11:00 am – noon Mountain | noon – 1:00 p.m. Central| 1:00 – 2:00 p.m. Eastern. Convert additional time zones online.)

This action-oriented research agenda is designed to provide practical, actionable information for academic librarians; include the perspectives of historically underrepresented communities in order to expand the profession’s understanding of research environments and scholarly communication systems; and point librarians and other scholars toward important research questions to investigate. Open and Equitable Scholarly Communications: Creating a More Inclusive Future is an important contribution to ACRL’s core commitment to equity, diversity and inclusion which includes valuing different ways of knowing and identifying and working to eliminate barriers to equitable services, spaces, resources, and scholarship. The full research agenda is freely available on the ACRL website and will be available for purchase in print in the ALA store.

Learn how to apply for an ACRL research grant of up to $5,000 to investigate timely and substantial research questions, developing solutions that will move the community forward.

Presenters:
Nathan Hall, ReSEC Vice Chair, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Yasmeen Shorish, ReSEC CHair, James Madison University
Rebecca R. Kennison, Principal, K|N Consultants Ltd.
Nancy L. Maron, Founder, BlueSky to BluePrint, LLC

How to Register
Register for free online, and you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar. The webcast will be recorded and posted on the ACRL website after the live event. Questions should be directed to Kara Malenfant.