Deadline Extended! Submit Nominations for the 2020 Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award by January 9, 2020

Atkinson deadline extended graphic

The deadline to submit a nomination for the Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award has been extended to January 9, 2020. Jointly sponsored by ACRL, ALCTS, LLAMA, and LITA, this award honors the life and accomplishments of Hugh C. Atkinson by soliciting nominations and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of an academic librarian who has worked in the areas of library automation or library management and has made contributions (including risk taking) toward the improvement of library services or to library development or research.

The award recipient will receive a cash award and a plaque, funded by an endowment created by divisional, individual, and vendor contributions given in memory of Hugh C. Atkinson.

The nominee must be a librarian employed in one of the following during the year prior to application for this award:

  • University, college, or community college library
  • Non-profit consortium, or a consortium comprised of non-profits that provides resources/services/support to academic libraries

The nominee must have a minimum of five years of professional experience in an academic library or in a non-profit consortium or a consortium comprised of non-profits.

Applications are kept in the award pool for two years and may be updated each year, as long as they are received by the award deadline.

More information including submission procedures, criteria, and a list of past winners is available on the ACRL website. For questions, please contact ACRL Program Officer Chase Ollis at