Online Library Instruction: Best Practices for Live Synchronous Teaching Webcast

Join ACRL for the interactive e-Learning webcast “Online library instruction: Best practices for live synchronous teaching” on Thursday, July 8, 2021. The webcast will be held from 2:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. (Eastern) | 1:00 p.m.-2:00 p.m. (Central) | 12:00 p.m.-1:00 p.m. (Mountain) | 11:00 a.m-12:00 p.m. (Pacific).

Synchronous online library instruction — classes delivered live via Zoom, Webex, or other conferencing platforms — have become much more common in the past year, but most of us never learned in library school how to approach this teaching format. This session will help your live online classes become a little less nerve-wracking: learn how to take advantage of the live online classroom environment, discuss some advantages and limitations compared to the in-person classroom, and how to make the most of your time with students.

Learning Outcomes

  • Advantages and disadvantages of synchronous online instruction
  • Moving from the classroom to the videoconference
  • Essential core competencies for online teachers

Presenter
Jason Puckett 
is Online Learning Librarian and Associate Professor at the Georgia State University Library in Atlanta, Georgia. Puckett has an MLIS from Florida State University and is the author of the ACRL books Modern Pathfinders: Creating Better Research Guides and Zotero: A Guide for Librarians, Researchers & Educators.

How to Register
Complete details and registration materials are available online. Group registration and other discounts are available. Contact Margot Conahan at mconahan@ala.org with questions