Standards for Libraries in Higher Education Revision

In 2009,  ACRL 2009-2010 President Lori Goetsch charged a Task Force to review and revise the 2004 ACRL Standards for Libraries in Higher Education. For more than a year, we have been reading relevant library, higher education and accreditation documents, surveying academic library directors to understand how the current ACRL Standards have served the profession, and interviewing library reviewers to better understand the evolving role of libraries within institutional accreditation processes.  The new Standards are intended to provide a comprehensive framework using an outcomes-based approach, with evidence collected in ways that are appropriate for each library.

We now welcome your comments on the draft of the 2011 Standards for Libraries in Higher Education.  The draft of the full document can be found on the ACRL Standards and Guidelines page (PDF).  If you are attending the ACRL 2011 Conference, we invite you to attend (and comment) at our public hearing scheduled for 1:30-3:00 p.m. on Friday, April 1,  in the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Independence Ballroom, located at 1201 Market Street.

You can also share your comments about the Standards draft online.  Visit the Task Force blog and take a look at our series of posts, which will introduce the various sections of the draft Standards to solicit additional public comments.  The commenting period will close on Monday, April 11.

You may also contact any member of the ACRL Standards for Libraries in Higher Education Review Task Force with suggestions and comments.  The Task Force has endeavored to create a document that will be informative, useful and relevant to the work we do in academic libraries.  Participation is key to our review process, so please take these opportunities to share your thoughts with us (and your colleagues).  We look forward to a robust discussion both online and in person at ACRL 2011.

The ACRL Standards for Libraries in Higher Education Task Force

ACRL Standards for Libraries in Higher Education Task Force Members:

Patricia Iannuzzi (Chair), University of Nevada-Las Vegas:

Tom Abbott , University of Maine-Augusta:

Jeanne Brown, University of Nevada-Las Vegas:

Susan Gibbons, University of Rochester:

Lynne King, Schenectady County Community College:

Sharon McCaslin, Fontbonne University:

Mary Reichel, Appalachian State University:

Joan Ruelle, Hollins University:

Lisa Stillwell, Franklin & Marshall College:

Mary Jane Petrowski, ACRL liaison: