The College Library Director Mentoring Program Board includes:

BossSam Boss, Secretary, 2015-16 cohort, is Head of Research Services at the UConn Library. He was previously director of Libraries at Northern Vermont University (NVU) in Lyndonville and Johnson, Vermont. Prior to serving at NVU, he was the Outreach and Public Services Librarian at the Guangzhou Library in Guangzhou, Guangdong Province, China. His degrees are from Southern Illinois University Carbondale (BA), SUNY Brockport (MA), and the University of Wisconsin Madison (MA-LIS).

Sam has remained involved with the CLDMP as the listserv administrator since completing the year of mentoring in 2016. Additionally, he and his mentor presented a poster on their experience at the ACRL-New England Chapter annual meeting in 2017.

Megan Brooks, 2018-2019 cohort, is Dean of Library Services at Wheaton College in Norton, MA. She previously worked at Mount Holyoke, Wellesley, and Swarthmore Colleges, always at the intersection of research services and academic technology. She earned her MLS from Syracuse University and her BA from the College of St. Benedict. At Wheaton, she is the co-coordinator of the Galleries, Libraries, Archives, and Museums certificate, which helps students develop the knowledge and skills needed for professional success in these fields.

GetchellCharles Getchell, Treasurer, 1995-96 cohort, is College Librarian at Saint Anselm College in Manchester, NH, since 2013, has also taught (American history) as a part-time lecturer, and is Faculty/Staff Team Advisor to Baseball.  Prior to Saint Anselm, he was Library Director at Quinnipiac College/University and previously at Wake Forest University, and the University of Kansas.   His degrees are from Tulane (BA), Ole Miss (MA), and the University of Texas at Austin (MLS).

Charles has held a variety of appointed and elected positions in state, regional, and national organizations.  He has been paired with ten first year directors, has enjoyed several library construction opportunities, developing and teaching history courses online, and serving as a visiting team member on regional re-accreditation (NEASC) visits.

GregoryAlison Gregory, 2013-2014 cohort, has been Associate Professor and University Librarian at Marymount University in Arlington, VA, since July of 2018. Prior to that, she was Associate Professor, Associate Dean, and Director of Library Services at Lycoming College in Williamsport, PA, from 2013-2018. Alison has been active in state-level library associations and multiple library consortia. She earned her degrees from Lycoming College (BA in history), Clarion University of Pennsylvania (MSLS), and Marymount University (MS in leadership and management). Her current research interests are in organization development and change management in academic libraries.

Melissa Jadlos, ex officio, program co-director, 2006-07 Cohort, is the Library Director at St. John Fisher College, Rochester, NY. She has been involved with the program since 2011 when she joined the seminar faculty. In 2012, she began co-directing the program with Susan Barnes Whyte.

Melissa has worked in small college libraries for almost her entire career. A brief time with an ARL library convinced her that a smaller library was where she wanted to be. Melissa’s interests include leadership, mentoring, copyright, assessment, and the strategic communication of library value. She has written and presented on these issues locally and nationally. In 2012, she received a Library Journal Mover & Shaker award for her innovative transformation of the library in her first five years as director.

Lisa Johnston, ex officio, program co-director, 2015-16 cohort, is Director of Library Services and Librarian for the Letters Collegium at Eckerd College in St. Petersburg, FL. Before becoming director at Eckerd College in 2015, she served as Associate Director at Sweet Briar College’s Cochran Library where she held a variety of professional positions for 26 years. The highlight of her time at SBC was serving on a design team for the historic restoration/addition to Cochran Library in 2014. In 2013, she served as Assistant Librarian on the Summer’13 voyage of Semester at Sea. Lisa began her career as a Reference Librarian I at Yale University, where she decided to pursue a career path in small liberal arts college where she could have more varied responsibilities, and work more closely with students and faculty.

Lisa serves on the Executive Board of ALAs GLBT-RT. She has been active in ALA throughout her career serving as Chair of the Stonewall Book Awards in 2011, and as a jury member for RUSA’s Outstanding Reference Books list and Sophie Brody Award. Her research interests include GLBTQ history and literature and women’s education.

KingNathaniel King, 2014-2015 cohort, is Director of the Marydean Martin Library at Nevada State College. His team received national recognition as a recipient of the 2020 Excellence in Academic Libraries Award from the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). Nevada State College is the first Hispanic Serving Institution to receive the award in the college category. Additionally, it is only second public institution to be honored in this category. The Library impressed the award committee with its supportive workplace culture, innovative approach to library services, and dedication to supporting the academic success of the college’s students.

Joan RuelleJoan Ruelle, ex officio, 2003-04 CLDMP cohort, has served as Dean of the Carol Grotnes Belk Library at Elon University since 2012. She was the University Librarian at Hollins University (2003-2012) which received the ACRL Excellence in Academic Libraries Award in 2009. Prior to that, she held multiple positions at the University of Virginia. Joan is a graduate of the University of Iowa (MLIS), Mankato State University (MA), and the University of North Dakota (BA).

zambellaBethAnn Zambella, Chair, 2005-2006 cohort, has been Director of Libraries at Denison University since 2013. She has also been a library director at Elizabethtown College, and a librarian at Wellesley College, Harvard College, Rutgers University, Fairleigh Dickinson University and Barnard College. Her curiosity compels her to look at challenges that cut across traditional organizational boundaries. She is always broadening her interests and vision, and is currently intrigued by the way we construct mental models as we learn and by the use of open educational resources.