Distance Librarianship Award

ACRL’s Awards program will be on hold for the 2021-2022 award season, during which time nominations will not be accepted or juried and no recipients will be chosen for any ACRL awards.

Selected by the DOLS Awards Committee, this page presents information about the Routledge Distance Learning Librarianship Conference Sponsorship Award.

The award honors any individual ACRL member working in the field of, or contributing to the success of distance learning librarianship or related library services in higher education.

Nominees should have demonstrated achievements in one or more of the following areas:

  • Support for distance learning librarianship and library services, e.g., service to students and faculty, innovation and/or leadership
  • Participation in the creation and/or implementation of distance library programs or services of exemplary quality
  • Successful collaboration with faculty in support of information literacy and/or other aspects of library instruction or services for distance students
  • Significant research, publication, or presentations in areas of distance learning librarianship

Application/Nomination Process:

  • Electronic submissions through the online nomination form are required. Self-nominations are also encouraged.
  • Submissions must include three letters of nomination or support.


  • 2021: Natalie Haber, Online Services Librarian, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
  • 2020: Samantha (Sam) Harlow, University of North Carolina, Greensboro
  • 2019: Victoria (Torrie) Raish, Pennsylvania State University
  • 2018: Marcia E. Rapchak, Duquesne University
  • 2017: Heather Blicher, Northern Virginia Community College
  • 2016: Elizabeth Brumfield, Prairie View A&M University
  • 2015: Christina Sibley, Arizona Western College
  • 2014: Frederick Stielow, American Public University System
  • 2013: Jane M. Hutton, West Chester University
  • 2012: Johanna Ruth Tuñón, Nova Southeastern University
  • 2011: Cassandra Kvenild, University of Wyoming
  • 2010: Thomas E. Abbott, University of Maine at Augusta