ESS Annual Meeting 2022

Virtual & In-person Meetings of the European Studies Section (ESS) of ACRL

All official meetings held online between Friday, June 3 – Sunday, June 26, 2022. Some meetings will take place at the ALA Annual Conference in Washington, D.C. between June 25 and 27 (these in-person meetings serving to allow ESSies at ALA to catch up in person, and are open to all ALA attendees). Registration for the ALA Conference is not a prerequisite for attending the virtual meetings.


Schedule

Times listed: Pacific (PT), Mountain (MT), Central US (CT), Eastern (ET), Central European (CET). For other time zones, convert to your time zone.
Please register for individual meetings to receive a Zoom link.

Virtual Meetings

DateTimeMeetingZoom
Fri, June 3, 202211:00 AM – 12:30 PM (PT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (MT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (CT)
2:00 – 3:30 PM (ET)
8:00 – 9:30 PM (CET)
Newsletter CommitteeRegister for this meeting
Tues, June 79:00 – 10:30 AM (PT)
10:00 – 11:30 AM (MT)
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (CT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (ET)
6:00 – 7:30 PM (CET)
Vendor ForumRegister for this event
Wed, June 812:00 – 1:00 PM (PT)
1:00 – 2:00 PM (MT)
2:00 – 3:00 PM (CT)
3:00 – 4:00 PM (ET)
9:00 – 10:00 PM (CET)
ESS Membership CommitteeRegister for this meeting
Thurs, June 910:00 – 11:30 AM (PT)
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (MT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (CT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (ET)
7:00 – 8:30 PM (CET)
Research Grant CommitteeRegister for this meeting
Fri, June 1011:00 AM – 12:30 PM (PT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (MT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (CT)
2:00 – 3:30 PM (ET)
8:00 – 9:30 PM (CET)
College and Medium-Sized Libraries Discussion GroupRegister for this meeting
Mon, June 1311:00 AM – 12:30 PM (PT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (MT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (CT)
2:00 – 3:30 PM (ET)
8:00 – 9:30 PM (CET)
Cataloging Issues Discussion GroupRegister for this meeting
Tues, June 1411:30 AM – 1:00 PM (PT)
12:30 – 2:00 PM (MT)
1:30 – 3:00 PM (CT)
2:30 – 4:00 PM (ET)
8:30 – 10:00 PM (CET)
General MembershipRegister for this meeting
Tues, June 149:00 – 10:30 AM (PT)
10:00 – 11:30 AM (MT)
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (CT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (ET)
6:00 – 7:30 PM (CET)
Communications and Publications CommitteeRegister for this meeting
Thurs, June 169:00 – 10:30 AM (PT)
10:00 – 11:30 AM (MT)
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (CT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (ET)
6:00 – 7:30 PM (CET)
Classical, Medieval, and Renaissance Discussion GroupRegister for this meeting
Fri, June 179:00 – 10:30 AM (PT)
10:00 – 11:30 AM (MT)
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (CT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (ET)
6:00 – 7:30 PM (CET)
Romance Languages Discussion GroupRegister for this meeting
Tues, June 219:00 – 10:30 AM (PT)
10:00 – 11:30 AM (MT)
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (CT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (ET)
6:00 – 7:30 PM (CET)
Executive CommitteeRegister for this meeting
Sun, June 2610:00 – 11:30 AM (PT)
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (MT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (CT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (ET)
7:00 – 8:30 PM (CET)
ESS Forum
Decolonising and Diversifying Collections
(Description and speaker bios)
Register for this event
Wed, June 299:00 – 10:30 AM (PT)
10:00 – 11:30 AM (MT)
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (CT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (ET)
6:00 – 7:30 PM (CET)
German-North American Resources Partnership (GNARP)
Thurs, June 309:00 – 10:30 AM (PT)
10:00 – 11:30 AM (MT)
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (CT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (ET)
6:00 – 7:30 PM (CET)
Germanists Discussion GroupRegister for this meeting

In-person meetings at ALA Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

DateTimeMeetingLocation
Sat, June 2511:00 AM -12:00 PM (ET)Vendor Relations Committee
(*we will be networking with ESS vendors at their booths*)
Renaissance Washington DC Hotel, Meeting Room 07 Washington Convention Center, Hall C entrance
Sat, June 251:00 – 2:00 PM (ET)Communications and Publications CommitteeRenaissance Washington DC Hotel, Meeting Room 12, 13, 14
Sat, June 252:30 – 3:30 PM (ET)Research Grant CommitteeRenaissance Washington DC Hotel, Meeting Room 07
Sat, June 254:00 – 5:00 PM (ET)Cataloging Issues Discussion GroupRenaissance Washington DC Hotel, Meeting Room 03
Sun, June 261:00 – 2:00 PM (ET)ESS Forum
Decolonising and Diversifying Collections
-virtual but room booked to watch together-
(Description and speaker bios)
Renaissance Washington DC Hotel,Meeting Room 2
Sun, June 266:00 – 8:00 PM (ET)Social Event (RSVP form)1377 R St NW Suite 300, Washington, DC 20009 (about a 20 minute walk from the convention center)
Mon, June 278:30 – 10:00 AM (ET)General MembershipRenaissance Washington DC Hotel,Meeting Room 2
Mon, June 2710:30-11:30 AM (ET)Executive CommitteeRenaissance Washington DC Hotel, Meeting Room 12, 13, 14

ESS Forum: Decolonising and Diversifying Collections

Please join us for the 2022 ESS Forum on 26 June at 1:00 EST, hosted jointly by the Conference Programme Planning and Research and Planning Committees. The event features three speakers: Jos Damen, Head of the Library and ICT Department at the African Studies Centre, Leiden University (NL), Gerard Koskovich of Queer Antiquarian Books, and Margarita Nafpaktitis, Curator for Slavic and East European Collections, of Stanford Libraries. The forum will address decolonisation and diversification in libraries. Speakers will discuss the definitions of these concepts, how the concepts apply to library collections, how vendors figure in their application, and what barriers librarians face to develop collections that address these topics.

Speakers

  • Jos Damen is Head of the Library and ICT Department at the African Studies Centre, Leiden University (NL) and is in charge of policy, planning and operations. He is a member of the ASCL’s Executive Board and vice-director of the ASCL. Damen has worked in 4 very different libraries during several decades. He has published dozens of articles on library matters. At the African Studies Centre he stimulated open access publications and new databases (+app) containing  publications from Africa. He also pioneered in Wikipedia (900k edits), e.g. with uploading thousands of Africa photographs (1930s-2010s) to Wikimedia Commons. The recent Collection Plan of the Leiden Africa Library strives for 75% of new book acquisitions coming from Africa.
  • Gerard Koskovich is a book dealer and public historian who divides his time between San Francisco and Paris. He works in particular with university, research and special collections libraries to develop their holdings of LGBTQ, gender and sexuality materials with a notable focus on France and Western Europe. A founding member of the GLBT Historical Society in San Francisco and a member of the Collectif Archives LGBTQI in Paris, Koskovich has been active in the movement to create LGBTQ archives and museums for four decades. He has curated numerous exhibitions and has presented and published widely in English and French. Koskovich is a full member of the Antiquarian Booksellers Association of America and a life member of the Committee on LGBT History. (More about Gerard and the ABAA.)
  • Margarita Nafpaktitis is Curator for Slavic and East European Collections at Stanford Libraries.
    • As the Slavic and East European collections librarian, the geographic scope of the collections I curate includes Poland, Russia, Ukraine, and many other countries in East Central and Southeast Europe (including Greece). I select materials for research and instruction published in and about these regions in new and old formats, in subject areas including literature and linguistics, cultural studies, history, social sciences, fine and performing arts, and popular culture. I also consult and collaborate with students and faculty to help them find the materials that they need for their research and their teaching.

Committees and Discussion Groups

Resources