ESS Annual Meeting 2023

Virtual & In-person Meetings of the European Studies Section (ESS) of ACRL

All official meetings held online between Tuesday, May 23 – Tuesday, June 20, 2023. Some meetings will take place at the ALA Annual Conference in Chicago between June 23 and 25 (these in-person meetings serve to allow ESSies at ALA to catch up in person, and are open to all ALA attendees). Registration for the ALA Conference is not a prerequisite for attending the virtual meetings.


Schedule

Times listed: Pacific (PT), Mountain (MT), Central US (CT), Eastern (ET), Central European (CET). For other time zones, convert to your time zone.
Please register for individual meetings to receive a Zoom link.

Virtual Meetings

DateTimeMeetingZoom
Tue, May 23, 2023Attention: time change!
7:00 – 8:00 AM (PT)
8:00 – 9:00 AM (MT)
9:00 – 10:00 AM (CT)
10:00 AM – 11:00 PM (ET)
4:00 – 5:00 PM (CET)
Vendor Relations CommitteeRegister for this meeting
Tue, June 610:00 – 11:00 AM (PT)
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM (MT)
12:00 – 1:00 PM (CT)
1:00 – 2:00 PM (ET)
7:00 – 8:00 PM (CET)
Classical, Medieval, and Renaissance Discussion Group (also meeting in-person at ALA)Register for this meeting
Tue, June 611:00 AM – 12:00 PM (PT)
12:00 – 1:00 PM (MT)
1:00 – 2:00 PM (CT)
2:00 – 3:00 PM (ET)
8:00 – 9:00 PM (CET)
Scandinavian Discussion GroupRegister for this meeting
Wed, June 710:00 – 11:00 AM (PT)
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM (MT)
12:00 – 1:00 PM (CT)
1:00 – 2:00 PM (ET)
7:00 – 8:00 PM (CET)
Germanists Discussion Group (also meeting in-person at ALA)Register for this meeting
Thu, June 810:00 – 11:30 AM (PT)
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (MT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (CT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (ET)
7:00 – 8:30 PM (CET)
Slavic Cataloging and Metadata CommitteeRegister for this meeting
Mon, June 1210:00 – 11:00 AM (PT)
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM (MT)
12:00 – 1:00 PM (CT)
1:00 – 2:00 PM (ET)
7:00 – 8:00 PM (CET)
Membership CommitteeRegister for this meeting
Mon, June 1211:00 AM – 12:00 PM (PT)
12:00 – 1:00 PM (MT)
1:00 – 2:00 PM (CT)
2:00 – 3:00 PM (ET)
8:00 – 9:00 PM (CET)
Communications and Publications Committee (also meeting in person at ALA)Register for this meeting
Tue, June 1310:00 – 11:00 AM (PT)
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM (MT)
12:00 – 1:00 PM (CT)
1:00 – 2:00 PM (ET)
7:00 – 8:00 PM (CET)
Slavic & Eastern European Discussion GroupRegister for this meeting
Tue, June 1311:00 AM – 12:00 PM (PT)
12:00 – 1:00 PM (MT)
1:00 – 2:00 PM (CT)
2:00 – 3:00 PM (ET)
8:00 – 9:00 PM (CET)
Newsletter CommitteeRegister for this meeting
Thu, June 1511:00 AM – 12:00 PM (PT)
12:00 – 1:00 PM (MT)
1:00 – 2:00 PM (CT)
2:00 – 3:00 PM (ET)
8:00 – 9:00 PM (CET)
Cataloging Issues Discussion GroupRegister for this meeting
Fri, June 1611:00 AM – 12:30 PM (PT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (MT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (CT)
2:00 – 3:30 PM (ET)
8:00 – 9:30 PM (CET)
General Membership MeetingRegister for this meeting
Tue, June 2012:00 – 1:30 PM (PT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (MT)
2:00 – 3:30 PM (CT)
3:00 – 4:30 PM (ET)
9:00 – 10:30 PM (CET)
Executive CommitteeRegister for this meeting

In-person meetings at ALA Annual Meeting in Chicago

DateTimeMeetingLocation
Fri, June 238:30 AM – 4:30 PM (CT)ESS Workshop “European Language and Area Studies Workshop for Librarians”
(not officially part of ALA Annual Conference)
Newberry Library, 60 W Walton St, Chicago, IL 60610
Sat, June 248:30 – 10:00 AM (CT)Forum on the War in Ukraine organized by Conference Program Planning Committee (HYBRID)Palmer House, Salon 07-09
Zoom registration for this webinar
Sat, June 2410:30 – 11:30 AM (CT)Classical, Medieval, and Renaissance Discussion Group (also separate meeting during virtual meetings)Palmer House, Salon 01
Sat, June 242:30 – 3:30 PM (CT)Communications and Publications CommitteePalmer House, Salon 01
Sun, June 2510:30 – 11:30 AM (CT)College and Medium-Sized Libraries Discussion GroupPalmer House, Burnham 1
Sun, June 251:00 – 2:00 PM (CT)Germanists Discussion GroupPalmer House, Clark 05
Sun, June 252:30-3:30 PM (CT)Discover What’s New In The European Studies Section (ACRL ESS)Palmer House, Wabash Room
Sun, June 255:30-7:30 PM (CT)ESS Reception (register)Alliance Française, 810 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60610

ESS Forum on the War in Ukraine

The 2023 ESS Forum will discuss the ongoing Russo-Ukrainian War, its effect on libraries in Ukraine, and matters of Ukrainian collections in academic libraries. The speakers will be Oksana Brui, Ulia Gosart, and Ksenya Kiebuzinski.

Speakers

  • Oksana Brui is a Ukrainian librarian and a public activist. She worked at the Library of the Kyiv-Mohyla Academy and at the National Medical Library of Ukraine as a Deputy Director for IT. Since 2016, Oksana is the Director of the Scientific and Technical Library of the National Technical University of Ukraine, Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute. Oksana received her first education at a pedagogical university. Oksana also received a master’s degree in Health Care Management for Executives and PhD in social communication (librarianship). She is the author of about 20 publications, more than 15 handbooks and two Massive Open Online Courses for librarians. Main sphere of her professional interests: strategic management, open science, knowledge management, IT in libraries. She implements business management approaches and tools into Ukrainian libraries daily work. One of the authors of The Strategy of Development of Ukrainian Libraries for 2017-2025. Since 2018, she has been the president of the Ukrainian Library Association.
  • Ulia Gosart (Popova) was born in Ukraine and attended a library program at Kiev National University of Culture and Arts. She holds advanced degrees in library and information science, and has training in human rights through her postdocs. Her scholarly work emerged from her human rights advocacy. She worked on the revival of the post-war Kosovo library system in the early 2000s, and currently focuses on reconstruction and digitization of Ukrainian public libraries affected by the war.
  • Ksenya Kiebuzinski holds an M.I.S (SUNY at Albany, 1988), M.A. in Women Studies (Brandeis, 1999) and Ph.D. in Literary Studies (Brandeis, 2002). Prior to joining the University of Toronto Libraries, she served as Jacyk Bibliographer at the Harvard Ukrainian Research Institute (1991–2006). Presently, she is Head of the Petro Jacyk Central and East European Resource Centre and Slavic Resources Coordinator at the University of Toronto Libraries. She also co-directs (with Professor Lucan Way) the Petro Jacyk Program for the Study of Ukraine, and coordinates the Ukraine Research Group, at the Centre for European, Russian, and Eurasian Studies. Her research interests include bibliography, the history of the book and library collections, Austrian Galicia, and 19th-century French culture.

Slides

Thanks to the generous donations from vendors, ESS was able to donate $2,000 to ALA’s Ukraine Library Relief Fund and $2,060 to the Saving Ukrainian Cultural Heritage Online (SUCHO).

Committees and Discussion Groups

Resources