ESS Annual Meeting 2024

Virtual & In-person Meetings of the European Studies Section (ESS) of ACRL

All official meetings held online between Tuesday, June 11 – Friday, June 28, 2024. Some meetings will take place at the ALA Annual Conference in San Diego, CA between June 27 and 30 (these in-person meetings serve to allow ESSies at ALA to catch up in person, and are open to all ALA attendees). Registration for the ALA Conference is not a prerequisite for attending the virtual meetings.


Schedule

Times listed: Pacific (PT), Mountain (MT), Central US (CT), Eastern (ET), Central European (CET). For other time zones, convert to your time zone.
Please register for individual meetings to receive a Zoom link.

Virtual Meetings

DateTimeMeetingZoom
Tue, June 11, 202410:00 – 11:00 AM (PT)
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM (MT)
12:00 – 1:00 PM (CT)
1:00 – 2:00 PM (ET)
7:00 – 8:00 PM (CET)
Membership CommitteeRegister for the Membership Committee meeting
Tue, June 18, 202410:30 AM – 12:00 PM (PT)
11:30 AM – 1:00 PM (MT)
12:30 – 2:00 PM (CT)
1:30 – 3:00 PM (ET)
7:30 – 9:00 PM (CET)
Slavic Cataloging and Metadata CommitteeRegister for the Slavic Cataloging and Metadata committee meeting
Wed, June 19, 202410:00 – 11:00 AM (PT)
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM (MT)
12:00 – 1:00 PM (CT)
1:00 – 2:00 PM (ET)
7:00 – 8:00 PM (CET)
Slavic & Eastern European Discussion GroupRegister for the Slavic & Eastern European Discussion Group meeting
Thu, June 20, 202412:00 – 1:00 PM (PT)
1:00 – 2:00 PM (MT)
2:00 – 3:00 PM (CT)
3:00 – 4:00 PM (ET)
9:00 – 10:00 PM (CET)
Communications and Publications CommitteeRegister for the Communications and Publications Committee meeting
Fri, June 21, 20249:00 – 10:00 AM (PT)
10:00 – 11:00 AM (MT)
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM (CT)
12:00 – 1:00 PM (ET)
6:00 – 7:00 PM (CET)
Cataloging Issues Discussion GroupRegister for the Cataloging Issues Discussion Group meeting
Fri, June 21, 20249:00 – 10:00 AM (PT)
10:00 – 11:00 AM (MT)
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM (CT)
12:00 – 1:00 PM (ET)
6:00 – 7:00 PM (CET)
Research Grants CommitteeRegister for the Research Grants Committee meeting
Tue, July 09, 202411:00 AM – 12:00 PM (PT)
12:00 – 1:00 PM (MT)
1:00 – 2:00 PM (CT)
2:00 – 3:00 PM (ET)
8:00 – 9:00 PM (CET)
Scandinavian Discussion GroupRegister for the Scandinavian Discussion Group meeting

Thu, July 11, 2024
10:00 – 11:00 AM (PT)
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM (MT)
12:00 – 1:00 PM (CT)
1:00 – 2:00 PM (ET)
7:00 – 8:00 PM (CET)
General Membership MeetingRegister for the General Membership Meeting

Thu, July 11, 2024
12:00 – 1:00 PM (PT)
1:00 – 2:00 PM (MT)
2:00 – 3:00 PM (CT)
3:00 – 4:00 PM (ET)
9:00 – 10:00 PM (CET)
Executive Committee MeetingRegister for the Executive Committee Meeting

In-person meetings at ALA Annual Meeting in San Diego

DateTimeMeetingLocation
Fri, June 287:00 – 9:00 PM (PT)Dinner with ESS Colleagues! (pay your own way)
To kick off ALA 2024 in San Diego, we’ve arranged restaurant reservations at three different venues that are approximately a 20 minute walk from the Convention Center on Friday, June 28th at 7:30.
Meet in the Exhibits Hall at 6:30 pm near the International Vendors (e.g. Amalivre, Casalini, etc.) and then leave promptly to walk to the restaurants at 7pm. Register here by June 14, 2024
Sat, June 2910:30 – 11:30 AM (PT)Classical, Medieval and Renaissance Discussion GroupManchester Grand Hyatt, Torrey Hills A B
Sat, June 291:00 – 2:00 PM (PT)College and Medium-sized Libraries Discussion GroupManchester Grand Hyatt, Promenade A
B
Sat, June 292:30 – 3:30 PM (PT)ESS Forum
Join ESS for this year’s Forum, “Translations from Minority Languages”
Manchester Grand Hyatt, Solana Beach
A B
Sun, June 301:00 – 2:00 PM (PT)Germanists Discussion GroupManchester Grand Hyatt, Marina Room
Sun, June 302:30-3:30 PM (PT)Research and Planning CommitteeManchester Grand Hyatt, Marina Room
Sun, June 305:00-6:30 PM (PT)ACRL European Studies Section Networking Forum / Discover What’s New in the European Studies Section (ESS)Manchester Grand Hyatt, Promenade A B

Committees and Discussion Groups

Resources