ESS Virtual Midwinter 2022

Virtual Meeting of the European Studies Section (ESS) of ACRL

Meetings held online between January 13 and February 25, 2022
Meetings are not being held on the ALA/ACRL Zoom instance and registration for the ALA Midwinter Conference is not a prerequisite for attending the meetings.


Schedule

Times listed: Pacific (PT), Mountain (MT), Central US (CT), Eastern (ET), Central European (CET). For other time zones, convert to your time zone.
Please register for individual meetings to receive a Zoom link.

Thursday, January 13, 2022

TimeMeetingZoom
12:00 – 1:30 PM (PT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (MT)
2:00 – 3:30 PM (CT)
3:00 – 4:30 PM (ET)
9:00 – 10:30 PM (CET)
Slavic Cataloging and Metadata CommitteeRegister for this meeting
12:00 – 1:30 PM (PT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (MT)
2:00 – 3:30 PM (CT)
3:00 – 4:30 PM (ET)
9:00 – 10:30 PM (CET)
Romance Languages Discussion Group Register for this meeting

Monday, January 24

TimeMeetingZoom
8:00 – 9:30 AM (PT)
9:00 – 10:30 AM (MT)
10:00-11:30 AM (CT)
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (ET)
5:00 – 6:30 PM (CET)
Vendor Relations Committee Register for this meeting
9:00 – 10:30 AM (PT)
10:00 – 11:30 AM (MT)
11:00 AM -12:30 PM (CT)
12:00 – 1:30 pm (ET)
6:00 – 7:30 PM (CET)
Slavic & Eastern European Discussion Group Register for this meeting

Wednesday, January 26

TimeMeetingZoom
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (PT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (MT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (CT)
2:00 – 3:30 PM (ET)
8:00 – 9:30 PM (CET)
Cataloging Issues Discussion GroupRegister for this meeting

Friday, January 28

TimeMeetingZoom
12:00 – 1:30 PM (PT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (MT)
2:00 – 3:30 PM (CT)
3:00 – 4:30 PM (ET)
9:00 – 10:30 PM (CET)
Newsletter CommitteeRegister for this meeting

Tuesday, February 1

TimeMeetingZoom
10:00 – 11:00 AM (PT)
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM (MT)
12:00 – 1:00 PM (CT)
1:00 – 2:00 PM (ET)
7:00 – 8:00 PM (CET)
Awards CommitteeRegister for this meeting

Thursday, February 3

TimeMeetingZoom
10:00 – 11:30 AM (PT)
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (MT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (CT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (ET)
7:00 – 8:30 PM (CET)
College and Medium-Sized Libraries Discussion GroupRegister for this meeting

Friday, February 4

TimeMeetingZoom
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (PT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (MT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (CT)
2:00 – 3:30 PM (ET)
8:00 – 9:30 PM (CET)
Scandinavian Discussion GroupRegister for this meeting

Tuesday, February 8

TimeMeetingZoom
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM (PT)
12:00 – 1:00 PM (MT)
1:00 – 2:00 PM (CT)
2:00 – 3:00 PM (ET)
8:00 – 9:00 PM (CET)
Communications and Publications CommitteeRegister for this meeting

Wednesday, February 9

TimeMeetingZoom
9:00 – 10:30 AM (PT)
10:00 – 11:30 AM (MT)
11:00 AM -12:30 PM (CT)
12:00 – 1:30 pm (ET)
6:00 – 7:30 PM (CET)
Classical, Medieval, and Renaissance Discussion GroupRegister for this meeting
9:00 – 10:30 AM (PT)
10:00 – 11:30 AM (MT)
11:00 AM -12:30 PM (CT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (ET)
6:00 – 7:30 PM (CET)
GNARP

Tuesday, February 15

TimeMeetingZoom
9:00 – 10:30 AM (PT)
10:00 – 11:30 AM (MT)
11:00 AM -12:30 PM (CT)
12:00 – 1:30 pm (ET)
6:00 – 7:30 PM (CET)
General MembershipRegister for this meeting

Friday, February 25

TimeMeetingZoom
12:00 – 1:30 PM (PT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (MT)
2:00 – 3:30 PM (CT)
3:00 – 4:30 PM (ET)
9:00 – 10:30 PM (CET)
Executive CommitteeRegister for this meeting
9:00 – 10:00 AM (PT)
10:00 – 11:00 AM (MT)
11:00 – 12:00 PM (CT)
12:00 – 1:00 PM (ET)
6:00 – 7:00 PM (CET)
Germanists Discussion Group

The upcoming World Cup 2022 in Qatar offers a unique opportunity to explore the role of football/soccer in contemporary society, particularly as it relates to academic research contexts. At this midwinter meeting of the ESS Germanists DG, Carlin Wing, Assistant Professor of Media Studies at Scripps College, will join us to talk about her research and new book EA Sports FIFA  (2022 from Bloomsbury), and to discuss the cultural influence of FIFA; the intersections of gender, race, and sports; why the World Cup matters to academic libraries in North America; and other topics of interest to ESS members. 
Register for this meeting

Committees and Discussion Groups

Resources