ESS Membership Committee

Purpose and Origins

The Membership Committee recruits and mentors new members to the section, supports ESS-sponsored programs, and organizes section-wide events.
The ESS Membership Committee was formed in 1998.

Current Leadership & Members

  • Walter Schlect (Chair, July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2024)
  • Glenda M. Insua (Member, July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2025)
  • Kelly Omodt (Member, July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2024)
  • Ann Snoeyenbos (Member, July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2024)
  • Liladhar Pendse (Member, July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2024)

See ACRL website for previous years’ committee membership.


  • Webpage for new WESS members
    • The WESS Membership Committee offers a New Members Buddy Program for each new member for their first year. The new member is assigned a “buddy” from the committee who serves as a resource for WESS, ACRL, and ALA, including ACRL and ALA conferences
  • Internal Committee Pages (available only to members of the Membership Committee with a password)

ESS Mentorship Program
The aim of the European Studies Section (ESS) Mentoring Program is to support professional development and networking opportunities between entry-level and senior librarians in academic, special, and public libraries. The ESS Membership Committee hopes to foster mentor/mentee relationships, by sharing knowledge, consult on questions, and collaborate on projects. If you like more information about the program and would like to participate, please complete the following survey:

Meeting Agendas & Minutes