Newsletter Committee – 2023 Annual

ALA Annual Meeting, Virtual

Tuesday, June 13, 2023
11:00-12:00pm (PST); 12:00pm-1:00pm (MST); 1:00pm-2:00pm (CST); 2:00pm -3:00pm (EST)
Zoom registration info


Attendees

  • Deb Raftus, Librarian for French & Italian Studies, Spanish & Portuguese Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, and German Studies, University of Washington Libraries (Web Administrator for ESS)
  • Barbara Maratos, Boston University. Web team member and liaison to Newsletter committee
  • Lia Chaleva, Acquisitions & Licensing Librarian, Villanova University
  • Lucia Wolf. Reference Librarian, Library of Congress
  • Chella Vaidyanathan, European/World History, Philosophy, and Classics Librarian, Emory University
  • Brian Vetruba, European Studies Librarian, University of Minnesota (ESS chair)
  • Lana Soglasnova, Slavic Cataloguing Supervisor Librarian, University of Toronto Libraries
  • Megan Bennett, Farmington Public Library, Farmington, New Mexico (Chair, Newsletter Committee)

Agenda & Minutes

I. Welcome and introductions

II. What went right with the 2023 Newsletter

  • acknowledging the donors
  • visually pleasing
  • melting pot section
  • Bits and Bites in Europe, 2023 – Very good to have To stress the importance of ESS

III. What we might be able to improve with the 2024 Newsletter

  • not many submissions, move deadline
  • post COS earlier
  • more conference write-ups
  • approach the vendors? (vendor relations committee)
  • on-going reminders
  • pitch specifically conference write-ups
  • personnel updates (promotions, job changes, etc) – News from ESSies
  • travel updates? Pictures + updates
  • grants, projects, DH
  • book reviews
  • articles about DEI
  • bibliographic lists
  • incentivize submissions
  • people‚Äôs choice?
  • increase submissions for Bits and Bites
  • go back and look at previous articles/updates
  • travel advice
  • trip write-ups

IV. How might we get more content submissions for the 2024 Newslette

  • Send out our brainstorm ideas to ESSies
  • Easier to update already existing pages than new submission

Minutes submitted by Megan Bennett