Newsletter Committee Agenda & Minutes – 2023 Midwinter

ALA Midwinter Meeting, Virtual

Monday, February 27, 2023
10:00 AM-11:30 AM (CST); 11:00 AM-12:30 PM (EST); 9:00 AM-10:30 AM (MST); 8:00 AM-9:30 AM (PST)
Zoom registration


Attendees

  • Megan Bennett, Farmington Public Library, Chair
  • Lia Chaleva (Villanova University)
  • Brian Vetruba, University of Minnesota, Chair of ESS
  • Chella Vaidyanathan, European/World History, Philosophy, and Classics Librarian, Emory University Libraries
  • Deb Raftus (University of Washington)
  • Lucia Wolf (Library of Congress European Reading Room) Reference Librarian and Recommending Officer for Italy/Malta/San Marino/Switzerland/Vatican
  • Lana Soglasnova (non-member)

Agenda & Minutes

I. Welcome and introductions

II. Updates from 2023 Newsletter Committees

  • MLA  ESS/LES liaison MLA– Arianne Hartsell-Gundy
  • Update Lia Chaleva to new email
  • Add “what I am reading?” to Book Reviews 
  • Have a list of where to send Call for Submissions 

III. Call for submission: Materials due March 31st

  • ESS-L; ALAConnect; SLAVLib, local ALA, local ACRL, 
  • Book reviews for books published in other languages
  • What am I reading – not in english – brief summary
  • Submitting for newsletter – okay 
  • Publishing for ess – okay
  • Slavic and East European Information Resources — maybe link to TofC of most recent issue.
  • Put on the CoS that you do not have to be a member of ESS to contribute to the Newsletter

IV. Other Business

  • Documenting our work – Google drive, etc, where we can store our documents
    • One spot to hold documents
  • ESS Handbook; how are we updating the stuff
  • Create “this is our job” for the newsletter, to help with transitions 
  • Some information needs to be kept private 
  • Documenting – what the web team can do, get started, transitioning 

  • ESS Newsletter – Working with the ESS website – expectations 
  • Create consistent look and feel, good accessibility 
  • Create website documentation for new chair
  • Use as guide

Minutes submitted by [Megan Bennett, Chair, ESS Newsletter Committee]