College and Medium-Sized Libraries Discussion Group Agenda & Minutes – 2023 Midwinter

ALA Midwinter Meeting, Virtual

Meeting held jointly with Slavic & Eastern European Discussion Group

Thursday, February 23, 2023
2:00-3:00 P.M.(EST)/1:00-2:00 P.M. (CST)/12:00-1:00 P.M. (MST)/11:00 A.M.-12:00 P.M. (PST)
Zoom registration


Attendees

  • Masha Stepanova, Miami University, stepanm@miamioh.edu (Convener, Slavic DG)
  • Katie Gibson, Miami University, gibsonke@miamioh.edu (Convener, College & Medium Sized Libraries DG)

Agenda & Minutes

I. Welcome and introductions

Kathleen Smith, Ann Snoeyenbos, Lia Chaleva, Brian Vetruba, Lana Soglasnova, Robert Morgan, Masha Stepanova, Katie Gibson

II. Professional involvement

  • How to recruit people at small and medium sized institutions to increase professional representation?
    • Professional development funding
    • Confusion over what exactly we mean by college and medium sized libraries
      • Resources, student body size, ARL members?
    • Work with membership committee
    • Get an idea of the demographics of the members – maybe like a membership census?
    • Maybe it’s a marketing issue – always explain purpose of the group
  • What professional development resources do smaller institutions have available?
  • How to identify and recruit relevant people who might be interested?
  • What service opportunities are available?

III. Revisiting previous discussion

  • How has collecting been impacted by the war in Ukraine? 
    • Print journal cost jumped so high because of import sanctions, switched to the electronic version
    • Faculty switching their research interests 
    • LoC working with Eastview who has employees in Kiev
    • What about gray literature
      • Emily Channel Justice project in process at Miami – photographs of Maidan protests 
      • University of Toronto project to document oral histories
    • Other vendors working in the area?
  • Any new developments since last meeting?

IV. Open discussion

  • What’s happening at your institutions?
    • Would there be interest in a discussion of how to deal with gift books

Minutes submitted by Katie Gibson