Germanists Discussion Group

Purpose and Origins

To provide a discussion and information-sharing forum for librarians with particular interests in the German-speaking nations or in any aspect of German studies.

The Germanists Discussion Group, established in 1988, has a convener and meets at the Annual and Midwinter ALA Conferences.

Current Leadership

  • Heidi Madden (Convener, July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2024)

See ACRL website for past membership.

Agendas and Minutes

Electronic Discussion List

German-E is a listserv that grew out of the Germanists Discussion Group but also includes non-WESS members in Germany and the United Kingdom. It features news and discussion for librarians who work with materials from the German speaking countries.

To be included, enter a Subscription Request through the Duke Mailing List Manager. Post messages to

Other Resources

Past Leadership

  • 2022-2023: Tom Harding
  • 2019-2020: Walter Schlect
  • 2018-2019: Kelsey Anna Sorenson & Walter Schlect
  • 2017-2018: Diana Brooking (University of Washington, Seattle
  • 2014-2017: Brian Vetruba (Washington University in St. Louis)
  • 2011-2014: Lidia Uziel (Yale University)
  • 2011-2012: Libby Chenault (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
  • 2010-2011: Sebastian Hierl (Harvard University)
  • 2009-2010: Anna Shparberg (Rice University)
  • 2008-2009: Heidi Madden (Duke University)
  • 2007-2008: Kizer Walker (Cornell)
  • 2006-2007: Timothy Shipe (University of Iowa)
  • 2005-2006: Michael Seadle (Michigan State University)
  • 2004-2005: Sam Dunlap (University of California, San Diego)
  • 2003-2004: James Burgett (University of Kentucky)
  • 2002-2003: Helene Baumann (Duke University)
  • 2001-2002: Gail Hueting (University of Illinois)
  • 2000-2001: Kati Radics (UCLA)
  • 1999-2000: Marje Schuetze-Coburn (University of Southern California)
  • 1998-1999: Reinhart Sonnenburg (University of California, San Diego)
  • 1997-1998: Jeff Garrett (Northwestern University)
  • 1996-1997: Heidi Hutchinson (University of California, Riverside)
  • 1995-1996: Sem Sutter (University of Chicago)
  • 1994-1995: Michael Olson (Harvard University)
  • 1993-1994: Stephen Lehmann (University of Pennsylvania)
  • 1992-1993: Barbara Walden (University of Minnesota)
  • 1991-1992: Tom Kilton (University of Illinois)
  • 1990-1991: Richard Hacken (Brigham Young University)
  • 1989-1990: James Campbell (University of Virginia)
  • 1988-1989: James Spohrer (University of California, Berkeley)