Germanists Discussion Group Agenda & Minutes – 2023 Midwinter

ALA Midwinter Meeting, Virtual

Wednesday, March 1, 2023
1:00-2:00 P.M. (EST)/12:00-1:00 P.M. (CST)/11:00 A.M.-12:00 P.M. (MST)/10:00-11:00 A.M. (PST)
Zoom registration


Attendees

  • Tom Harding, University of Waterloo, thomas.harding@uwaterloo.ca (Convener)
  • Christie Ericson, Katie Gibson, Heidi Madden, Jeremy Ott, Kathleen Smith, Brian Vetruba

Agenda & Minutes

I. Welcome and introductions

II. Print versus electronic purchases – current demands from departments

Discussion about the current difficulties of getting eBooks from European publishers. This is on Harrassowitz’s radar, however, progress is slow.

III. Emerging research areas, gaps in collections

Emerging research topics attendees discussed included animal studies and German colonialism in Africa. The group also discussed the continuing difficulties of providing faculty and students access to film. The platform Lumière from Berkeley came up in discussion as a possible option.

IV. Enrolment in German departments and library resources allocated to languages

Several librarians said that their budgets have been cut in recent years for various reasons. However, increased cooperation within consortia is helping to fill the gaps in collections caused by decreased spending. One attendee said that there also needs to be more discussion about cooperation between different consortia, as each group is operating in an isolated environment.


Minutes submitted by Tom Harding